Embracing Sensuality: Personal Stories of Empty Nest Moms Rediscovering Themselves

Four moms share their stories to inspire and motivate you

Wendy Miller
6 min readJun 16, 2024

--

Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

Last time, I promised you stories from other women who have gone through this same journey of rediscovering and embracing their sensuality after the kids grew up and moved out. I have four stories for you, each one unique. They’re short, because although I want you to be inspired by each woman’s story, I don’t want you to get bogged down in too many details. Your journey will be as unique as you are. You might get into pole dancing like Samantha or reignite your marriage like Isabel. You might do something totally different too — and that’s okay! But these women’s stories prove that this is a worthwhile journey and the results can be incredible.

Without further ado…

Samantha, 52: The Liberation of Self-Discovery

Samantha had always put her family’s needs before hers, but when her last child left for college, she found herself at a crossroads. Determined to reclaim her sense of self, she embarked on a journey of self-discovery that led her to unexpected places. “I spent so long living for others that I forgot what it meant to live for myself,” Samantha reflects. “I forgot how to do something just because I…

--

--