Does Your Morning Routine Need An Overhaul?

We get stuck in ruts because they’re comfortable and familiar. But is it really working for us?

Wendy Miller
5 min readJan 3, 2020
Photo by THE 5TH on Unsplash

There are tons of suggestions for what your morning routine should look like: meditation, yoga, drinking water, eating breakfast, taking a shower, putting on a full face of makeup… I don’t know about you, but sometimes I read these lists of things to do in the morning and I think I’d have to get up at 2 AM to get it all done by the time I want to start working at 8 AM.

Morning routines are great. I highly recommend having one. It’s a great way to ensure you don’t walk out the door with unbrushed teeth or a rat’s nest for hair (unless that’s the look you’re going for, of course). But I want to reassure you that your morning routine doesn’t have to be one of those long lists that makes you think you have to get up in the middle of the night in order to get it all done.

In fact, I believe that a morning routine should be something you can do in an hour — an hour and a half, tops. If you want your routine to be shorter, that’s even better. But what should you be doing in that time?

In large part, that’s for you to decide. But I do have a few ideas for you. Five, in fact. And of those five, only two of them are things you actually need to do…

--

--