Dating on a Budget: How to Have Fun without Spending a Fortune

You don’t need to give up on dating to save some cash

Wendy Miller
8 min readNov 8, 2022
Photo: Ivanko_Brnjakovic via Getty Images Pro

Aside from a short-lived, casual relationship this summer, I’ve been single since I ended my last serious relationship almost four years ago. During those four years, I’ve gone back and forth between actively dating and enjoying being single. And most recently, like so many, I’ve had to take some hard looks at my budget and cut some expenses to make ends meet.

For singles, dating can often be a category that takes a hit when the budget needs to be trimmed. It feels like a luxury and keeping a roof over our head or food in the kitchen seems much more important than dating. And while that may be true, it doesn’t mean you have to give up dating because you’re pinching pennies.

Instead, consider how you might have fun dating without spending much money. From how to meet someone to what to do when you have met someone, I’ve got 10 simple tips for dating on a budget. And as a bonus, you won’t look like a cheapskate when you use them, either.

Look for free or low-cost ways to meet new people

After the pandemic, a lot of people have come to rely on dating apps to meet people. Some people (myself included) relied on apps even…

--

--